This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. Learn more



Type A

Barrier protection

Protection against water ingress which is dependent on a separate barrier system applied to the structure.

Type B

Structurally integral protection

Protection against water ingress which is provided by the structure.

Type C

Drained protection

Protection against water ingress into usable spaces which is provided by the incorporation of an appropriate internal water management system.

The BS8102:2009 standard for waterproofing below-ground structures gives recommendations and provides guidance on methods of dealing with and preventing the entry of water from surrounding ground into a structure below ground level.

It identifies three types of protection – A, B and C – that can be selected to suit a specific construction method, appropriate to a range of internal environments from underground car parks, to plant rooms, storage facilities, as well as ventilated basements in residential and commercial buildings.

Significantly, the National House Building Council (NHBC) has taken on board the recommendations of BS8102 and now require all waterproofing solutions to have primary and secondary waterproofing measures. It is therefore important to understand the different types of waterproofing materials and the type of protection they offer, particularly as many situations combine solutions from Type A, Type B and Type C waterproofing.

Fosroc supplies a range of waterproofing products in accordance with Types A, B and C as specified in BS BS8102:2009. Our products meet all relevant performance standards and are manufactured under quality management systems certified to ISO 9001 and 14001. Our waterproofing products have either BBA approval or CE marking where required.

The Northern Line Extension details of which can be seen here is a major example of where types A and B waterproofing have been used.